Skip to content ↓


The staff at Eastbrook Primary Academy fully recognises the contribution it can make to safeguard and protect the pupils in its care. The school follows stringent safer recruitment procedures in the appointment of staff and robust checks for all visitors to school. All personnel receive regular training in safeguarding the welfare of children both in and out of school.

Parents and carers should be aware that the school will take any reasonable action to ensure the safety of its pupils. In cases where a member of staff has reason to be concerned that a child may be subject to significant harm, ill-treatment, neglect, emotional or other forms of abuse, staff have no alternative and will follow the advice and child protection procedures of the West Sussex Safeguarding Children Board (WSSCB) and inform Social Care of any concerns.

  • Mrs Julia Sherlock is the Designated Person for safeguarding children.
  • Mrs Jenny Holter and Mr Kristen Fawcett are the Deputy Designated Persons.
  • Dr Louise Askew is the Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding.

"The school's work to keep pupils safe and secure is outstanding." 

Ofsted, July 2015